People get into fender benders all the time, but are they all actually reported? What kind of accidents truly warrant a report?
The answers to the aforementioned questions are displayed below. Keep reading to learn more.
When to Report an Accident in Florida
If you’re involved in a car accident in Florida, the law says you need to report the incident if any one of the following happens:
- Someone dies or is injured
- It was a hit and run accident
- An intoxicated driver caused the accident
- There was property damage of $500 or more
How to Report an Accident in Florida
First, you, your insurance agent, or your attorney must complete a Crash Report in order to report your accident. This must be done within 10 days of the crash. In order to complete the Crash Report, you’ll need the following:
- The time and location of the accident
- The name, address, and birthday of all people involved
- The driver’s license information for all drivers involved
- The driver’s license plate number and state of all drivers involved
- The name and address of all policyholders and their insurance information
- The name and address of all registered vehicle owners for all drivers involved
- An accident diagram form
- A sketch of the accident from an aerial view
Crash Report Exceptions
You don’t need to file a Crash Report with the Florida DMV if a Florida police officer completed an accident report at the time of the incident. If you call an officer to the scene of the accident, it is customary for them to take a report for you. Just be sure to obtain the accident report number from the officer before you leave.
We Can Help
If you find yourself injured in a car accident due to no fault of your own, you may be entitled to compensation. Our experienced Tallahassee personal injury attorney has handled countless cases just like yours. Our team is ready to take on your case, too. Don’t hesitate to contact our firm with your case right away.
Call Shapiro Law Firm, P.A. today at (850) 629-7226 for a free consultation.