In the state of Florida, the laws concerning car accidents follow a no-fault system. This makes it so each driver must carry insurance coverages that focus on their own protection. Whereas many states operate on a fault insurance system where liability is the primary insurance coverage, Florida has requirements for all drivers to carry personal injury protection and property damage liability.
Each of these coverages also have minimum amounts required by law. For all drivers, it’s important to understand what each coverage is and how it protects drivers on the road.
The State Required Insurance Coverages
Personal Injury Protection: Also referred to as PIP, this type of policy calls for a $10,000 minimum limit and is designed to protect an individual in various situations. Because of the no-fault system, the personal injury protection covers expenses you sustain as a result of a car crash regardless of fault.
Property Damage Liability: Personal injury protection only covers the costs associated with the injuries you sustained, such as medical expenses and lost wages. However, they don’t cover damage to property. The property damage liability policy has a $10,000 minimum to help repair or replace a damaged vehicle.
The Other Types of Insurance Available
Liability Insurance: Under Florida’s Financial Responsibility Law, certain individuals are required to carry liability insurance coverage that covers the following:
- $10,000 minimum for bodily injury liability for one person
- $20,000 minimum for bodily injury liability for two or more people
- $10,000 minimum for property damage liability
- $30,000 minimum for combined single limits
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage: This type of coverage helps when the party responsible for the crash either flees, doesn’t have insurance to cover specific expenses, or doesn’t have insurance at all. Even when the liable party has PIP, it may not be enough to cover the full amount of the expenses in which case, your own uninsured or underinsured policy kicks in.
Comprehensive and Collision: Comprehensive covers damages to your vehicle not caused by an accident such as acts of vandalism. Collision covers the costs of repairs or replacement when your vehicle is involved in a crash.
Depending on the situation involved, if property damage exceeds a specific amount and there are catastrophic injuries, Florida law may allow for legal action against a negligent driver.
At Shapiro Law Firm, P.A., our Tallahassee car accident lawyer works with you to help you understand your rights when you have been injured and a claim has been denied. Trust that we work hard to help protect your rights and best interests every step of the way.
To learn if you have a case following a car accident, call our firm today at (850) 629-7226.